Sunday, March 29, 2026

Kill the King

Maybe I'm a fraud. Perhaps not. 

I couldn't muster the energy, courage or warmth to attend the third No Kings rally. 

Truth be told, until late last week, I didn't even know another one was even on the books. These last two certainly didn't have the hype of the first. 

When I heard about it, 710 told me and was keen on going. In theory I could get behind that. Still, it fell off my radar, and possibly his, as he never mentioned it again. 

After a shitty and freezing 10 mile run yesterday, someone at coffee brought it up that they were going. A number of others chimed in as well. At the same time I got a text from my sister asking if we were going. I just replied we were considering it. 

In all honestly, I just didn't want to go. If 710 had pushed it a bit, I probably would have, but I wasn't up to the mental task or the sub-32 temps. 

The picture my sister took is deceiving. I'm glad there were blue skies for this, but from 07:00 to this point, it was nothing but grey and flurries. 

It seems I'm fair-weather on democracy.......hence my fraud issue. 

If I truly thought my presence would bring down this current administration, I'd have been there with bells on.....and maybe little else. But we are at the third one. The first two didn't take them down. And it was scheduled for a very iffy weather circumstances day for one-third of the country. I'm assuming attendance was down most places. 

I could be wrong. I hope I am. 

Coming back from my run, a downtown parking lot that was full during the initial No Kings had cars you could count on one hand yesterday.*

The pic above is different than last June (May?) where there were barely inches between folks. 

Don't get me wrong, I am so glad folks showed. Any of them. They had more drive than myself. 

There are moments in time that I know 'break' me. In early BLOTUS second term days, it was all about discussing Project 2025 - but with all their shit, it's gone by the wayside.  Then this popped up:


It's been playing like a loop in my head for over a week. I feel so defeated with this administration  - and for us for missing this. And for us not truly being able to seemingly do anything about this. 

While I'd like to think showing up at a rally would solve this, it won't. We need to shut down the country. How is another matter, but I think it's the only thing that would get stupid fucks to pick up their head. 


On a "silver lining" note (I know, right?): 710 works for a company whose HQ is very pro-BLOTUS. With BLOTUS visiting there any number of times.....touting "all-American", though half 80% of 710's staff is located in India. 

That's not the silver lining. 

710 had to go to the corporate website, which he is only required to do for annual training. While there he saw a video of the CEO talking about the devastation of product lines and businesses due to tariffs. 

710 was surprised not only did he say it, but posted it. But add that CEO to the list of stupid fucks who voted - or at least rallied for - this dipshit "president" and now are having their asses handed to them. And while the CEO should be financially literate, they at least employ a CFO who is. How this didn't come up before is beyond me. 

But just maybe someone is seeing the light. Too late, but finally. 



*local news reported (according to 710) that ~2,000 folks were at Cleveland. There were about 5,000 when I went. 



Song by: Rainbow

No comments: